The department of mechanical engineering, being one of the largest and oldest departments of the institute, caters to its students with class tutorial and state-of-the-art laboratories. The department is continuously striving to achieve excellence in education, academic and industry oriented research as well as consultancy work with service to the society.

Read More


Ph.D. Thesis Defense

Date:Jan. 15, 2021, 11 a.m.

Mr. Sagar H. Pawar (166103021), a PhD student under the guidance of Dr. Arup Nandy and Prof. Sachin D. Kore, has defended his thesis " Electromagnetic Forming and Perforation of Tubes ".

CII MILCA Award 2020 - National Award for Academia

Date:Dec. 29, 2020, 1 p.m.

Mr. Sagar H. Pawar (166103021), a PhD student from Mechanical Engineering Department has received Gold Award in Research Scholar Category of CII MILCA AWARD 2020 held on 29.12.2020.

Ph.D. Thesis Defense

Date:Dec. 22, 2020, 10 a.m.

Mr. Amit Raj (Roll No. 156103044), a PhD student under the guidance of Dr. U.S. Dixit, has defended his thesis "Strength enhancement of Autoclaved Aerated Concrete (AAC) block and its masonry".


Date:July 15, 2020, 11 a.m.

Dr. Biranchi Panda, Assistant Professor in Mechanical Engineering Department, has received the "Graduate College Research Excellence Award" in the academic year 2019-2020 from Nanyang Technological University (NTU) Singapore for his excellent PhD work.

Student selected for PMRF (Lateral Entry)

Date:Oct. 19, 2020, noon

Ms. Rupresha Deb (Roll No: 196103027), a PhD student from Mechanical Engineering Department has selected for Prime Minister's Research Fellows (PMRF) scheme.

Ph.D. Thesis Defense

Date:Dec. 19, 2020, 10 a.m.

Mr. Shahnawaz Ahmed (Roll No. 136103007), a PhD student under the guidance of Dr. Manmohan Pandey, has defended his thesis "Investigations on Micro Loop Heat Pipe: Design, Fabrication and Mathematical Modeling using Thin-film Evaporation Theory"

Ph.D. Thesis Defense

Date:Dec. 18, 2020, 10 a.m.

Mr. Harshad S Gaikwad (Roll No. 166103004), a PhD student under the guidance of Dr. Pranab Mondal, has defended his thesis "Electrohydrodynamics in Polyelectrolyte Layer Grafted Narrow-Fluidic Channels".

Visiting Scientist position under CAS-PIFI 2020(Faculty Awarded) awarded to Dipankar Narayan Basu by Chinese Academy of Sciences Visiting Scientist position under CAS-PIFI 2020

Best paper award(Best Paper) awarded to Uday S. Dixit by AIMTDR Best paper award

2020 DUO-India Professor Fellowship Award(Faculty Awarded) awarded to Poonam Kumari by LOUGHBOROUGH UNIVERSITY 2020 DUO-India Professor Fellowship Award

3rd Prize for Oral presentation award(Best Paper) awarded to Ravi Sankar Mamilla by ASP-2018 Conference 3rd Prize for Oral presentation award

Chief Guest(Faculty Awarded) awarded to Uday S. Dixit by NIT Patna Chief Guest


Invitation to VETOMAC-2021

Date:Dec. 16, 2021, 10 a.m.

B.M.S. College of Engineering (B.M.S.C.E) is hosting the 16th Edition of International Conference – ‘Vibration Engineering & Technology of Machinery’ (VETOMAC 2021) during December 16th – 18th, 2021.

VETOMAC 2021 is the 16th in the series of conferences being held since the year 2000, in an effort to bring together researchers and professionals working in the field of vibration engineering. This conference over the years has been organized across various nations in Asia, Europe, America, and Australia with the participation of experts from industry and academia. The outcome of the conference is expected to culminate in benefitting the technology related to Vibration Engineering of Machinery.

Theme: " Integrated Vehicle Health Management" VETOMAC-2021

ME Dept. Time Table Jan-May 2021

Date:Jan. 4, 2021, 9 a.m.

Time Table Jan-May 2021

ME Elective Grouping 2020-21

Date:Jan. 4, 2021, 9 a.m.

ME Electives Grouping Jan-May 2021

ME Course Allocation Jan-May 2021

Date:Jan. 4, 2021, 8:06 p.m.

Courses and Electives Jan-May 2021


Date:Jan. 14, 2021, 10 a.m.

Analytical Mechanics and its Applications


25 Years

Research Areas


From HOD's Desk

The department of mechanical engineering is one of the largest and oldest departments of the institute. Till the 22nd convocation, 1120 B.Tech. students, 1121 M. Tech. students, and 183 Ph.D. students have been graduated from the department. The department is continuously growing in order to excel in the fields of teaching and research and has also achieved QS world university ranking by subject in the range of 201-250. This credit goes to all the student, staff, and faculty members with the guidance of all the previous department heads, Prof A. D. Sahasrabudhe (1994-2003), Prof P. S. Robi ( 2003-2006), Prof U. S. Dixit (2006-2009), Prof D. Chakraborty (2009-2012), Prof P. Mahanta (2012-2014), Prof A. K. Dass (2014-2017), Prof S. K. Dwivedy (2017-2020).

The department is achieving its milestones at various stages of its growth by recruiting and retaining the best faculty members, by upgrading the course-curriculum for catering the need of industry and research, by developing and maintaining state-of-art laboratories, by conducting various QIP, TEQIP and training programs for the students and participants from outside, by conducing cutting-edge research for the country and the society, etc. The department is currently focusing on creating the conducive environment for the students, staff and faculty members to give their best to society and the environment. With best wishes.

S. Senthilvelan
HOD, Department of Mechanical Engineering