The Department of Design, DoD, is one of thirteen departments at the Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati. The Department of Design at IITG nurtures Innovators, Creators, Communicators and Inventors. It offers programs leading to B.Des, M.Des and PhD in the creative design discipline. B Des degree offered by the department is the only undergraduate level degree of its kind in an Indian Institute of Technology in Design.

The focus of the programmes is on the study, invention, and creative use of technologies to create effective, usable, enjoyable experiences with technology through interdisciplinary research in engineering, design, behavioral and social sciences, and to understand the impact of technology on individuals, groups, and organizations.

The Instructional program aims to prepare students in the use of analytical and methodical approaches to solving design problems. Issues such as culture studies, aesthetics, human engineering, consumer behavior, design management, cognitive psychology and related socio-economic factors are researched and integrated into the curriculums. The utilization of cutting edge production and prototyping technology ensures, in the students, a firm base to excel in contemporary work environments.

Departmental Committees
Departmental Undergraduate Program Committee (DUPC)
Committee members:
Dr. D. Udaya Kumar (Associate Professor & HOD), Ravi Mokashi Punekar (Professor), Pradeep Yammiyaver. (Professor), Sougata Karmakar (Associate Professor), Dr. V Prabhu (Associate Professor, HSS Dept.)
DUPC Secretary:
Pankaj Upadhyay (Assistant Professor)

Departmental Postgraduate Program Committee (DPPC)
Committee members:
Dr. D. Udaya Kamar (Associate Professor & HOD), Ravi Mokashi Punekar (Professor), Pradeep Yammiyaver. (Professor), Debkumar Chakrabarti (Professor), Amarendra Kumar Das (Professor), Utpal Barua (Professor), Sougata Karmakar ( Associate Professor), Pratul Kalita ( Associate Professor), Prof. Shrikrishna N. Joshi (Professor, ME Dept.)

DPPC Secretary:
Keyur Sorathia (Associate Professor)

Faculty Advisors
Bachelors in Design (1st & 2nd year): Sheetal M. Gokhale (Assistant Professor)
Bachelors in Design (3rd & 4th year): Urmi Salve (Assistant Professor)
Masters in Design: Pratul Kalita (Associate Professor)
PhD in Design: Keyur Sorathia (Associate Professor)

Timetable Coordinator
Sharmistha Banerjee (Assistant Professor)

The Department of Design, IIT Guwahati | copyright @ 1997-2010 | Contact Us