Home     Biography     Research     Few Publications     Full List of Publications     Graphical Abstract  Project Funding     Collaborators     Courses     Group Members     Photo Gallery


Welcome  to  The  Bag's  Laboratory



Congratulation to Mr. Sayantan Sinha for being Selected for BRICS Young Scientist Fellow 2020".

Congratulation to Mr. Sayantan Sinha for the "InSC Research Excellence Award"

Post for JRF_CSIR, UGC, DST-Inspire (Special Pool)/Institute JRF (Regular pool)/NPDF/IPDF are available. Interested candidates may apply.

Congratulation to Dr.Bag For His FRSC Award.

Congratulation to Dr. Subhashis Jana for the Sailife-NOST-Best Thesis Award 2017.


Selected For BRICS Young Innovator Award 2020: Project Title: Development of a Fluorescent Peptide based sensor for rapid and specific detection of SARS-CoV-2 in Environment.

Dr. Rajen Kundu (1st Student): Scientist in CMERI- Durgapur-A CSIR Laboratory.

Dr. Afsana Yashmeen (4th Student): Scientist, Aditya Birla Group, Mumbai.

Dr. Manoj K Pradhan (5th Student): Asst. Prof. of Applied Chemistry, Jabalpur Engineering College, M.P, India.

Dr. Sangita Talukdar (2nd Student): PDF-Sanghai.

Dr. Subhashis Jana (3rd Student): PDF- Oregon State University, USA.

Dr. Suman Kalyan Das (6th Student): NPDF, KIT-Bhubaneswar.

Dr. Suranjan De (7th Student): PDF, Bar-Ilan University, Israel.





Prof. Subhendu Sekhar Bag, FRSC


Bioorganic Chemistry/Chemical Biology/Genomics Laboratory,

Department of Chemistry; Indian Institute of Technology;

Guwahati-781039; Assam, INDIA.

Ph:+91-361-258-2324(O); +91-361-258-4324(R);

Fax: +91-361-258-2349

E-mail: ssbag75@iitg.ac.in; ssbag75@gmail.com

email Prof. Bag


Professional Recognition

  • Associate Editor: MOJ Bioorganic & Organic Chemistry MedCrave 2017

  • Guest Lead Editor, Special Issue, Journal of Nucleic Acids, Sage-Hindawi Publications 2012

  • Editorial Advisory Board Member Open Chemistry Journal Bentham Open 2017

  • Editorial Advisory Boards Cambridge Scholars Publishing 2020

  • Editorial Board Member Current Chinese Science: Biophotonics Bentham Science 2020

  • Editorial Board Member Biological and Biomedical Reports, TCH International Publication 2013

  • Editorial Board Member STM Since Journals, JMCCT 2014

  • Editorial Board Member World Research Journal of Chemistry, Bioinfopublication; 2014

  • Editorial Board Member Austin Journal,. 2014

  • Editorial Board Member Current HIV Research - Bentham Science 2015

  • Editorial Board Member The Open Medicinal Chemistry Journal, Bentham Open 2017

Honors & Awards
  • 2020: Quarterly Franklin Membership (ID#RA87720), London Journals Press

  • 2018: Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC-653294), RSC, England

  • 2016: Outstanding Faculty Award, The Venus International Foundation

  • 2006: Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS), Govt. of Japan

  • 2005: Japan Science and Technology Fellowship, Govt. of Japan

  • 2005: Canada-HOPE Fellowship, Govt. of Canada

  • 1998: National Research Fellowship (NET-CSIR)

  • 1998: Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE)

  • 1998: Institute Silver Medal, IIT Kharagpur

  • 1998: National Scholarship, Govt. of West Bengal, India


Academic Recognition

   Associated Faculty, Centre for the Environment, IIT Guwahati

   Member, Board of Studies (Chemistry), Sikkim University

   Member, Doctoral Committee, National Institute of Technology, Silchar

    Past Member, Institute Official Language Implementation Committee, IITG

    Associated Faculty, International Joint M.Tech Degree in Food Science and Technology [IITG with GIFU University Japan.]

    Member, Institute Post Graduate Program Committee (IPPC)

    Institute Faculty In-Charge (Past), B.Tech. Preparatory Course

    Institute Coordinator, Teachers Training Camp (TTC), Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abhijan (RMSA), Government of Assam


  • Member American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) 2017 o Elected Fellow Indian Chemical Society 2001 o Member Chemical Research Society of India 2009

  • Member Chemical Society of Japan 2006 o Member American Chemical Society 2010 o Alumni Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) 2009


Department Overview

Academic Programs


Research News Facilities


The IIT Guwahati