Dr. Ananthakrishnan Srinivasan

Professor in Department of Physics

Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati

Guwahati - 781 039, Assam, INDIA.

e-mail: and/or

Phone: +91-361 258 2712

Fax: +91-361-258 2749 (Phys.), +91-361-269 0762 (IITG)








Research Interests:



General areas:



Experimental condensed matter physics




Specific areas:



Glasses, glass-ceramics and polymer composites for electronic, optical and biomedical applications

Nanostructured magnetic and semiconductor materials

Heusler based ferromagnetic shape memory and half-metallic alloys

Aluminium alloys

Magnetic and semiconductor thin films and devices

Design and development of laboratory instruments for specific needs






Research Facilities available for the group:



Major Commercial Equipment in Physics Department, IITG:



Powder X-ray Diffractometers (Rigaku TTRAX, Seifert XRD 3003 T/T)

Vibrating Sample Magnetometer (Lakeshore 7410) with low and high temperature attachments

Differential Scanning Calorimeter (Perkin-Elmer DSC 7)

uv - visible - near infrared Spectrophotometer (Shimadzu UVPC 3101)

Fourier Transform Infrared Spectrometer (Perkin-Elmer, BX-12)

Electrospinner (NaBond)

Bench top 2.5 l Freeze Dryer (Labconco, Freezone)

High Speed Refrigerated Centrifuge (SIGMA 2-16 PK)

Multi-gun RF and DC Sputtering Units

Thermal Evaporation unit

Thin film Profilometer

Planetary ball mills (with cryo-milling facility)

Resistance Furnaces (Tubular, muffle and raising-lowering hearth types upto 1800 C)

Arc Furnaces with suction casting facility

Vacuum induction furnace

Intellisuite software for MEMS design

Electrometer, constant current source, nanovoltmeter, lock-in amplifier, etc.




Elsewhere in IITG:



Transmission Electron Microscope with EDS (CIF, IITG).

Scanning electron Microscope with EDS (CIF, IITG).

Electron Paramagnetic Resonance Spectrometer (CIF, IITG).

Optical Microscope with hot-stage (Mech. Engg. Dept., IITG).

Microhardness tester (Buehler, Mech. Engg. Dept., IITG).

Polishing machines (Buehler, Mech. Engg. Dept., IITG).

Universal testing machine (Instron, Mech. Engg. Dept., IITG).

Mechanical Workshop, IITG.






Facilities Developed Indigenously:



Photoacoustic spectrometer.

ac susceptometer (90 K to 500 K).

Automated electrical resistivity measurement unit (90 K to 1000 K).

Electrical resistivity and TEP measurements on thin film (90 K to 500 K).

Magnetic Field Induced Strain (MFIS) measurement system (300 K; up to 5 kOe).

Spray pyrolysis set-up.

Chemical bath deposition unit.

Interferometer for thickness measurement of thin films.

Rotary furnace (300 K to 1400 K).

High-energy attrition ball mill (with Dr. P.S. Robi, Mech. Engg. Dept., IITG)



Externally funded Projects:











B.R.N.S. Young-Scientist research project entitled Structural Investigations on Amorphous Semiconductors (July 1997 - July, 2000).



D.S.T. Young-Scientist project entitled A Study of the Thermoelectric Power of V2O5-TeO2-SnO glasses (October 1998 - May 2001).



M.H.R.D. project entitled Development of a New Generation Spark Plug Electrode Material (April 1999 - March 2002).



I.U.C.-D.A.E.F. project entitled Neutron Diffraction Studies on Binary and Ternary Chalcogenide Glasses (April 1998 - September 2003).



I.S.R.O. (RESPOND) project entitled Preparation and Characterisation of Ru-Al Alloys for Special Applications with Prof. P.S. Robi as P.I. (September 1999 - September 2003).



D.S.T. project entitled Study of Colossal Magneto-resistivity of Pyrochlore Structure Based Materials with Dr. S. Ravi as P.I. (April 2003 - March 2006).



C.S.I.R. project entitled Electrical, Optical and Thermal Studies on Certain Vanadium Pentoxide Based Glasses Exhibiting Majority Charge Carrier Reversal (April 2003 - March 2006).



B.R.N.S. project entitled Preparation and Characterization of Bioactive Glass-Ceramics with Prof. P.S. Robi as C.I. (December 2005 - December 2007).



D.S.T. project entitled Investigations on magnetic properties of selected novel magnetic materials with Drs. A. Perumal, S. Ravi and P.K. Iyer as C.I.s) (September 2007 - October 2010).



U.G.C.-D.A.E.C.S.R. project entitled Neutron Diffraction Studies of Structural and Magnetic Phases in Co-Ni-Ga Alloys with Dr. S. Sarma (January 2009 - January 2011).



B.R.N.S. project entitled Development of polymer/bioactive glass nanocomposites (March 2011 - March 2014).




C.S.I.R. project entitled Development of Ni-Mn based alloys exhibiting high Magneto-caloric effect near room temperature (May 2012 May 2015)



Ph.D thesis work supervision:



Dr. Bachaspatimayum Indrajit Sharma (1999 - 2003). Thesis Title:Studies on certain vanadium pentoxide based semiconducting glasses exhibiting majority charge carrier reversal phenomenon [Presently, Lecturer, Physics Department, Assam University, Silchar-788 001, Assam].


Dr. Akhyaya Kumar Pattanaik (1998 - 2003). Thesis Title: Studies on bulk and thin films of Lead (Pb) modified chalcogenide glasses [Presently, Lecturer, UCE Burla, Sambalpur-768 018, Orissa].


Dr. Anil Borah (1998 - 2005); Thesis Title: Processing and characterisation of ruthenium aluminium alloys (Registered in Dept. of Mech. Engg., IITG jointly with Prof. P.S. Robi) [Presently, Lecturer, Mechanical Engg. Department, Assam Engg. College, Guwahati, Assam].


Dr. Sidananda Sarma (2000 - 2008). Thesis Title: Preparation and characterization of Co-Ni-Ga ferromagnetic shape memory alloys [Presently, Scientific Officer, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, Guwahati -781039, Assam].


Dr. Manos Pratim Chakrapani Kalita (2004 - 2008). Thesis Title: Structure and magnetic properties of mechanically alloyed nanocrystalline Fe-Si-M (M =Al, B, Cr) powders (Jointly with Dr. A. Perumal) [Presently, Lecturer, Dept. of Physics, Gauhati University, Guwahati-781 016, Assam].


Dr. Rajendra Kumar Singh (2005 - 2009). Thesis Title: Investigations on selected bioactive glasses and glass-ceramics containing iron oxide [Presently, Research Professor, Biomaterials and Tissue Engg. Lab, Dept. of Biomaterials Sci., Dankook University, South Korea].


Dr. Debabrata Mishra (2005 - 2009), Thesis Title: Magnetic properties of Mn and Co substituted Fe-Zr-B nanocrystalline alloys prepared by melt spinning and mechanical alloying processes (Jointly with Dr. A. Perumal) [Presently, Asst. Prof., University of Delhi]


Dr. Sanjib Banerjee (2005 - 2010), Thesis Title: Mechanical properties and high temperature deformation behavior of Al-Cu-Mg alloys microalloyed with Sn (Registered in Dept. of Mech. Engg., IITG jointly with Prof. P.S. Robi) [Presently, Asst. Prof., Dept. of Mech. Engg., Tezpur Univ., Assam].


Dr. Rahul Das (2008 - 2013), Thesis Title: Study of phase transitions and magneto-caloric effect in Ni-Mn-X (X = Ga, Sn, In) ferromagnetic shape memory alloys (Jointly with Dr. A. Perumal) [Presently, Asst. Prof., Dept, of Physics, Burdwan University].


Dr. Bhargab Deka (2009 - 2015), Thesis Title: Composition dependent properties of quaternary full Heusler alloys exhibiting ferromagnetism, antiferromagnetism and ferrimagnetism [Presently, Asst. Prof., IIIT Manipur, Imphal]



Dr. Nisha Shankhwar (2010 - 2016), Thesis Title: Preparation and characterization of nanocomposites for biomedical applications [Presently, Asst. Prof. in Galgotias University, Noida]


On going:



Mr. Arnab Kurmar Das (2011 - ), Topic: Seminconducting and Magnetic nanostructures.


Mr. Rajkumar Modak (2013 - ), Topic: Heusler alloy based thin films


Mr. Sunil Mohan (2015 - ), Topic: Fiber optics (Jointly with Prof. S. Khijwania).