Dr. Ananthakrishnan Srinivasan

Professor in Department of Physics

Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati

Guwahati - 781 039, Assam, INDIA.

e-mail: and/or

Phone: +91-361 258 2712

Fax: +91-361-258 2749 (Phys.), +91-361-269 0762 (IITG)







Academic Qualifications:

Ph.D (Physics); Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India; 1992; Thesis title: Investigations on the mechanical threshold in IV-V-VI glasses.

M.Sc.(Engg.); Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India; 1989; Thesis title: Some studies related to quasicrystalline materials.

M.Sc.(Physics); Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirapalli, India; 1985.

B.Sc.(Physics); Madras University, India; 1983.


Research/Academic Experience (Post-Ph.D):


Visiting Professor, Physics Department, CSET, University of South Africa, Johannesburg, South Africa, from July 2016 to September 2017.

Visiting Scientist, Magnetic Materials Center, National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba, Japan, from January 2009 to December 2009.

Professor, Physics Department, I.I.T. Guwahati, Guwahati, India, from July 2004 onwards (In Higher Academic Grade Pay Scale since August 2011).

Associate Professor, Physics Department, I.I.T. Guwahati, Guwahati, India, from June 2001 to July 2004.

Assistant Professor, Physics Department, I.I.T. Guwahati, Guwahati, India, from February1997 to June 2001.

Reader, Physics Department, Assam University, Silchar, India, from April 1996 to February 1997.

Visiting Scientist, Solid State Physics Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, India, from October 1995 to April 1996.

Post-Doctoral Research Associate, Instituto de Estructura de la Materia, C.S.I.C., Madrid, Spain, from October 1993 to September 1995.

Scientist Fellow, Length Standards Section, National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi, India, from November 1992 to September 1993.


Awards/Honours Received:

Young Scientist Research Award in Physics for the year 1996 from Department of Atomic Energy (Govt. of India).

Fellow of Instruments Society of India.


Affiliation to Professional Bodies:


Life Member of Instruments Society of India

Life Member of Materials Research Society of India

Life Member of Magnetics Society of India

Life Member of Indian Laser Association



Ph.D thesis work supervision:



Dr. Bachaspatimayum Indrajit Sharma (1999 - 2003). Thesis Title:Studies on certain vanadium pentoxide based semiconducting glasses exhibiting majority charge carrier reversal phenomenon [Presently, Lecturer, Physics Department, Assam University, Silchar-788 001, Assam].


Dr. Akhyaya Kumar Pattanaik (1998 - 2003). Thesis Title: Studies on bulk and thin films of Lead (Pb) modified chalcogenide glasses [Presently, Lecturer, UCE Burla, Sambalpur-768 018, Orissa].


Dr. Anil Borah (1998 - 2005); Thesis Title: Processing and characterisation of ruthenium aluminium alloys (Registered in Dept. of Mech. Engg., IITG jointly with Prof. P.S. Robi) [Presently, Lecturer, Mechanical Engg. Department, Assam Engg. College, Guwahati, Assam].


Dr. Sidananda Sarma (2000 - 2008). Thesis Title: Preparation and characterization of Co-Ni-Ga ferromagnetic shape memory alloys [Presently, Scientific Officer, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, Guwahati -781039, Assam].


Dr. Manos Pratim Chakrapani Kalita (2004 - 2008). Thesis Title: Structure and magnetic properties of mechanically alloyed nanocrystalline Fe-Si-M (M =Al, B, Cr) powders (Jointly with Dr. A. Perumal) [Presently, Lecturer, Dept. of Physics, Gauhati University, Guwahati-781 016, Assam].


Dr. Rajendra Kumar Singh (2005 - 2009). Thesis Title: Investigations on selected bioactive glasses and glass-ceramics containing iron oxide [Presently, Research Professor, Biomaterials and Tissue Engg. Lab, Dept. of Biomaterials Sci., Dankook University, South Korea].


Dr. Debabrata Mishra (2005 - 2009), Thesis Title: Magnetic properties of Mn and Co substituted Fe-Zr-B nanocrystalline alloys prepared by melt spinning and mechanical alloying processes (Jointly with Dr. A. Perumal) [Presently, Asst. Prof., University of Delhi]


Dr. Sanjib Banerjee (2005 - 2010), Thesis Title: Mechanical properties and high temperature deformation behavior of Al-Cu-Mg alloys microalloyed with Sn (Registered in Dept. of Mech. Engg., IITG jointly with Prof. P.S. Robi) [Presently, Asst. Prof., Dept. of Mech. Engg., Tezpur Univ., Assam].


Dr. Rahul Das (2008 - 2013), Thesis Title: Study  of  phase transitions  and  magneto-caloric effect in Ni-Mn-X (X = Ga, Sn, In) ferromagnetic shape memory alloys (Jointly with Dr. A. Perumal) [Presently, Asst. Prof., Dept, of Physics, Burdwan Univerisity].


Dr. Bhargab Deka (2009 - 2015), Thesis Title: Composition dependent properties of quaternary full Heusler alloys exhibiting ferromagnetism, antiferromagnetism and ferrimagnetism [Presently, Asst. Prof., IIIT Manipur, Imphal]



Dr. Nisha Shankhwar (2010 - 2016), Thesis Title: Preparation and characterization of nanocomposites for biomedical applications [Presently, Asst. Prof. in Galgotias University, Noida]

On going:



Mr. Arnab Kurmar Das (2011 - ), Topic: Seminconducting and Magnetic nanostructures.


Mr. Rajkumar Modak (2013 - ), Topic: Heusler alloy based thin films


Mr. Sunil Mohan (2015 - ), Topic: Fiber optics (Jointly with Prof. S. Khijwania).