About Us

Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, the sixth member of the IIT fraternity, was established in 1994. The academic programme of IIT Guwahati commenced in 1995. At present the Institute has eleven departments and three inter-disciplinary academic centres covering all the major engineering, science and humanities disciplines, offering BTech, BDes, MA, MDes, MTech, MSc and PhD programmes. Within a short period of time, IIT Guwahati has been able to build up world class infrastructure for carrying out advanced research and has been equipped with state-of-the-art scientific and engineering instruments. Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati's campus is on a sprawling 285 hectares plot of land on the north bank of the river Brahmaputra around 20 kms. from the heart of the city. With the majestic Brahmaputra on one side, and with hills and vast open spaces on others, the campus provides an ideal setting for learning.

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati was formed in the year 1995 and provides an outstanding research environment complemented by excellence in teaching. The Department offers B.Tech., M.Tech., Ph.D. and Dual (M.Tech. + Ph.D.) degrees. The Department has a comprehensive curriculum on topics related to all aspects of Computer Hardware and Software with an emphasis on practical learning. The course structure is up-to-date and includes courses on nascent topics to equip our students with the latest developments in Computer Science and Engineering. The Department has state-of-the-art infrastructure and computing equipment supported by high speed Ethernet and wireless networks. Various student organisations like ACM Chapter, ACS Chapter, CSEA, Linux and Open Solaris Community are active throughout the year. Our faculty members aim at delivering top class education blending their rich research experience with classroom teaching. The Department has undertaken many research projects funded both by multinationals and government agencies. For more information regarding research activities please visit the faculty and research pages. The Department has the following research groups:

  • Theoretical Computer Science
  • Computer Architecture & Embedded Systems
  • Computer Networks & Security
  • Machine Learning & Data Mining
  • Distributed Systems
  • Man-Machine Interfaces
For more information visit: http://www.iitg.ernet.in/cse/

Department of Electronics and Electrical Engineering

The department was established during the inception of the institute in 1995 as the department of Electronics and Communication Engineering (ECE). Since its commencement, the primary objective of the department has been to impart quality education, training and research at the undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral levels in various areas of Electronics and Communication Engineering with broad emphasis on design aspects of electronic systems. In 2011, the department of Electronics and Communication Engineering has been renamed as department of Electronics and Electrical Engineering (EEE).The major areas of faculty expertise of the department include Biomedical Signal Processing, Communication Systems, Computer Networks, Control Systems, Digital Signal Processing, Image Processing & Computer Vision, Instrumentation, Multimedia Security, Power Electronics, Power Systems, Radar Signal Processing, RF and Microwaves, Speech Signal Processing, VLSI Systems and MEMS.
The research activities in the Department are broadly identified under the following six groups:

  • Communication and Advanced DSP
  • Biomedical and Speech Processing
  • Control and Instrumentation
  • VLSI
  • Image processing and Computer Vision
  • Power System and Power Electronics.
For more information please visit: http://www.iitg.ernet.in/eee/


Prof. Sukumar Nandi
General Co-chair
VLSI Design and Test Symposium (VDAT-2016),
Department of Computer Science & Engineering,
Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati,
Email: vdat2016@iitg.ernet.in
Phone: +91 361 2582400


Last Date for Abstract Submission:January 31, 2016 (IST)
Last Date for Paper Submission:February 3, 2016 (IST)
Notification of Acceptance for Papers: April 10, 2016
Last Date for Tutorial Proposal: January 31, 2016

Fellowship Application Deadline: May 12, 2016
Authors Registration Deadline: May 15, 2016

Department of CSE & EEE, Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, Assam, Pin-781039
Email: vdat2016@iitg.ernet.in, Phone: +91 361 2582400