Second Convocation
Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
Monday, 29th May 2000

द्धितीय दीक्षांत समारोह भारतीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान, गुवाहाटी सोमवार, 29 मई 2000 Second Convocation
Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
Monday, 29th May 2000

द्धितीय दोक्षांत समारोह भारतीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान, गुवाहाटी सोमवार, 29 मई 2000

## Programme

Chairman, Board of Governors, declares the Convocation open

Report by the Director

Address by the Chairman, Board of Governors

Convocation Address by the Chief Guest

Award of Degrees and Medals

Graduates take the Pledge

Chairman, Board of Governors, declares the Convocation closed

National Anthem

#### **Board of Governors**

Prof. A. D. Sahasrabudhe

Prof. A. Dasgupta
Prof. M. C. Borgohain

Lt. Gen. (Retd.) S. K. Sinha Chairman Governor of Assam Ex-Officio Member Prof. D.N. Buragohain Director, IIT, Guwahati Dr. S. D. Gogoi Nominee of the Council Former V.C., Dibrugarh University Nominee of the Council Prof. Kamaleswar Bora Former V.C., Dibrugarh University Nominee of the Council Shri Arvind Pandey Chairman, Steel Authority of India Ltd. Prof. D. Dutta Mazumdar Nominee of the Council Professor Emeritus. Indian Statistical Institute, Calcutta Nominee of Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh Dr. G. Ch. Chennaiah Director & Member Secretary, Arunachal Pradesh State Council for Science & Technology Nominee of the Govt, of Assam Dr. B. K. Gohain Secretary to the Govt. of Assam, Personnel & General Administration Dept. Prof. M. K. Chaudhuri Nominee of the Senate Head, Dept. of Chemistry, IIT, Guwahati Prof. Anil Mahanta Nominee of the Senate Head, Dept. of Electronics & Communication Engineering, IIT, Guwahati Organisation Chairman, Board of Governors Lt. Gen. (Retd.) S. K. Sinha Director Prof. D.N. Buragohain Prof. G. Barua Dean, Research & Development Prof. M. K. Chaudhuri Dean, Students' Affairs

Dean. Academic Affairs

Registrar

Dean, Planning & Development

### **Heads of Departments**

Prof. G. Barua Computer Science & Engineering

Prof. A. Mahanta Electronics & Communication Engineering

Prof. A. D. Sahasrabudhe Mechanical Engineering

Prof. S. Nadkarni Design

Prof. U. C. Kalita Civil Engineering

Prof. M. K. Chaudhuri Chemistry
Dr. S. Ghosh Physics

Dr. R. Alam Mathematics

Dr. A. Barua Humanities & Social Sciences



#### President of India Gold Medal

Arunesh Mishra
Computer Science and Engineering



### Silver Medal

Saikat Ray
Electronics and Communication Engineering



#### Silver Medal

Jitesh H. Panchal Mechanical Engineering



## Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal

Abhishek Ghosh Computer Science and Engineering

## Computer Science and Engineering

Roll No.	Name
961116	Arunesh Mishra
961129	Himanshu Raj
961130	Kapil Khemka
961110	Abhishek Ghosh
961127	Vivek Singh
961118	Y.V.S. Siva Nagendra
961119	K. Venkata Marayya Naidu
961103	Debashish Chatterjee
961102	Seraj Ahmad
961117	Yasa Giridhar Appaji Nag
961121	K. Srinivasa Raghavendra
961114	Mandeep Kumar
961126	Servesh Pratap Singh
961108	Sanjeev Dwivedi
961115	Thota Kiran Kumar
961128	Deepankar Vidyarthi
961105	Atul Chowdhry
961111	Ajay Kumar Gupta
961113	Ajay Kumar
961106	Clint Mario Cleetus
961124	Arun Singh
961109	Prayas Gaurav
961122	Putcha Sekhar
961125	Rajendra Kumar Singh
961107	Amitayu Das
961104	Sharath Reddy Cholleti
961120	Pramod Kumar Patangay
961112	Sandeep Kumar Gupta
961123	Sushant Sharma
961101	Parvez Ahmad
951101	Manav Kumar Agarwal

# **Electronics and Communication Engineering**

Roll No.	Name
961217	Saikat Ray
961223	Lal Babu Sharma
961209	Mrityunjay Kumar
961204	Suneet Dhingra
961213	Vivek Prakash
961202	Vikram Agrawal
961210	Akhilesh Mittal
961222	Diwakar Sharma
961215	Manish Prasad
961214	Man Bhawan Prasad
961208	Kumar Gautam
961226	Vedam Venkata Siva Praveen Kumar
961207	Praveen Kumar Jain
961221	Shakti Amarendra
961201	Nikhil Aggarwal
961206	Ritesh Gupta
961218	Shubhankar Ray
961219	Amit Sahu
961220	Manish Sao
961225	Budamigunta Venkata Sreedhar
961203	Sher Singh Bishnoi
961224	Devesh Singh

# Mechanical Engineering

Roll No.	Name
961321	Jitesh H. Panchal
961306	Chandresh Baid
961318	Mantosh Kumar
961320	Rakesh Kumar Mishra
961315	S. Vikram Kumar
961322	Skand Pandey
961301	Saurabh Akhauri
961305	Amnaya Prakash Awasthi
961319	Himanshu Meel
961323	Varunesh Puri
961317	Kumar Vinit
961311	Rohit Khanna
961307	J. Bhargava
961303	Rohit Arora
961314	Ravi Ranjan Kumar
961324	Gunjan Singh Thakur
961310	Vikas Gupta
961302	K. Anand
961325	Sachin Kumar Tripathi
961304	Pankaj Kumar Arrawatia

## Computer Science and Engineering

Roll No.	Name
983110	Sola Hari Krishna A Kernel Implementation of the Samba Server
983108	Prem Kumar Chedella Study and Implementation of Algebraic Geometric Codes
983109	Raghuraman Rangarajan Sequential and Parallel Reachability Analysis of Concurrent Java Programs
983102	Ch. Pavan Kumar Web Based Natural Language Interface for Data Mining
983103	G. Nirmal Kumar  Design and Implementation of New Key Exchange Scheme
983107	N. Ravishankar Kolachana Models of Distributed Computation
983105	Molleti Jagan Babu  A Web based GIS for Assam – Design, Development and Data Mining Investigations
983106	Mukesh Ranjan Automated Test Data Generation

## Electronics and Communication Engineering

# Signal Processing

Roll No.	Name
983201	Atanu Guchhait Block Motion Compensation Using Polynomial Intensity
983210	Sushanta Jyoti Sarma
	Implementation of an Image Enhancement Processor using FPGA Customized Hardware
983208	Pallavi Chowdhury
	Analysis and Synthesis of Stressed Speech
983205	Krushna Prasad Ojha
	Implementation of Low-Area FIR Filter Using FPGA
983209	Saroj Kumar Behera
	Performance Evaluation of Speech Features for Speaker Identification
983203	Chandana Barpujari (Sarma)
	Image Texture Classification in the JPEG Domain
983211	Yasmin Zaman
	Two Stage Filtering Approach for Extraction of Fetal Electrocardiogram
983207	Nazrul Haque
	The Study of Transient Behaviour of Second-order Phase-Locked Loop

### Mechanical Engineering

#### Design

Roll No Name 983300 Parlapalli Madhusudhana Rao Determination of Material Parameters through the Study of Indentation of the Material by a Sphere 983305 N. Satyanarayana Finite Element Analysis of Rotor Bearing Systems with Higher Effects 983302 C. Damodara Reddy Direct Mass Flow Measurement using Structural Dynamic Characteristics of Fluid Conveying Pipes

#### Fluid-Thermal

983307 Prabal Talukdar Analysis of Conduction -Radiation Problem in Participating Media using Collapsed Dimension Method 983308 Priyanka Roy Improvements to the Discrete Transfer Method for the Analysis of Radiative Transfer Problems in Enclosures with Participating Media 983304 Jitumoni Deka Pressure Drop Characteristics in a Rib Roughened Channel