We are interested in the broad areas of nanoscale science and technology involving synthesis, reaction and organization of nanoscale materials and their application in problems related to Chemistry and Biology.

Particularly, working with composite materials, chemical locomotion and in nanobiotechnology, we lay stress on understanding the fundamental working principles of these novel materials.

Latest News

Mr. Sujay Paul has been awarded the Best Oral award, at "ICANN 2023" conference, Organized by Centre for nanotechnology, IIT Guwahati.

Miss Priya Das has been awarded with Best Poster award, at "SCF Congress 2023" conference, Organized by French Chemical Society.

Dr. Mihir Manna has been awarded with the "RSC Best Poster", at the conference "EDCS-23" , Organized by University of Kalyani, West Bengal.

Dr. Mihir Manna has been awarded with the "Best Paper Presentation", at the conference "Frontiers in Chemistry-2023" , Organized by University of North Bengal, West Bengal.

Dr. Sabyasachi Pramanik joined as a Faculty of Chemistry, at Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology, Sivsagar, Assam.

Prof. Arun Chattopadhyay has been selected for J. C. Bose Fellowship 2020.

Dr. Srestha Basu has been awarded FY2020 JSPS (Japan Society for the Promotion of Science) Postdoctoral Fellowship for research in Japan (Standard).

Prof. Arun Chattopadhyay has been elected to be the Fellow of Indian National Science Academy (INSA) (2020)

Dr. Rumi Khandelia has been selected for Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions- Individual Fellowship to pursue her post doctoral research at UCD, Dublin, Ireland.

Dr. Upashi Goswami has been awarded DST-INSPIRE Faculty Award.

PhD positions available

Interested candidates having CSIR/UGC JRF fellowship may apply through or may directly contact Prof. Arun Chattopadhyay at

Prof. Arun Chattopadhyay

Dept. of Chemistry & Centre for Nanotechnology

Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati

Assam-781039. Email ID:

Phone: +91(361) 258 2304 (Office)

    +91(361) 258 2333/4 (Lab)

Designed by: Sunil Kumar Sailapu

Maintained by: Ujjala Dey

Last Updated on 24th September, 2023.

Home Profile Team Research Gallery Alumni

© 2013 Prof. Arun Chattopadhyay. For queries mail to