• PhD:
  Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics, University of Cambridge, 2001  
Thesis Title:  Iwasawa Theory of Lubin-Tate Division Towers and p-Adic L-Functions
Supervisor: John Coates, FRS, Sadleirian Professor of Mathematics, DPMMS, Cambridge
  • Certificate for Advanced Study in Mathematics (Mathematical Tripos, Part III) at Trinity College, University of Cambridge, 1997 (distinction).
  • The Mathematical Tripos, Trinity College, University of Cambridge, 1996, (wrangler).
  • High School (X), Govt. Higher Secondary School, Golaghat, Assam, 1989, (86.2%).


Awards and Scholarships


  • Sir William Hodge Fellowship, awarded jointly by Engineering and Physical Research Council (EPSRC), UK and Institut des Hautes Etudes Scientifiques (IHES), France, 200-2002.
  • Senior Rouseball Scholarship, awarded by Trinity College, Cambridge on the basis of postgraduate research work, 2000-2001.
  • Smith and Knight Prize in the annual mathematics essay competition for second year Ph.D. students at the University of Cambridge, 1999.
  • Research Scholar of Trinity College, the highest category of scholarships of the college open to students, awarded for excellence in Mathematical Tripos - Part III examination, 1997-2000.
  • Internal Graduate Studentship, Trinity College, Cambridge, 1997-2000.
  • Senior Scholar of Trinity College, awarded for excellence in Tripos results, 1995-97.
  • Ramanujan Scholarship, awarded annually to one student from India to pursue higher studies in mathematics at the University of Cambridge, 1994-96.
  • Honorary Scholar of Cambridge Commonwealth Trust, 1994-1996.
  • State Merit Scholarship to study mathematics at the University of Delhi, 1991-1994.
  • Ramesh Goel Memorial Prize for the best student of mathematics at St. Stephen's College, 1994.