Award/Scholarship details

Student Name

Name of Award: Commonwealth Split-Site Scholarship-2019, Scholarship Period – 3rd Jan 2020- 3rd Jan 2021

Host University: University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland, Lab Details: Lau Laboratory for Bioinspired Interfacial Materials, Technology Group Dept: Pure and Applied Chemistry Host

Supervisor: Dr K H Aaron Lau Host Co-Supervisor: Dr Christine Davidson

Aquib Jawed
IconSWM Excellence award 2019 for best paper in  9th IconSWM-CE, organized by ISWMAW at KIIT, Bhubaneswar, Odisha, from November 27-30, 2019. Oral presentation on “Pollutant removal kinetics of aerobic granular reactors operated with different inoculums and hydraulic retention times during diesel wastewater treatment” by Sayanti Ghosh and Prof. Saswati Chakraborty. Sayanti Ghosh

Name of Award: Commonwealth Split-Site Scholarship-2019 Scholarship Period - 1st Oct 2019-30th Sept 2020
Host University: University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland Lab Details: Smart Materials and Device Technology Group Dept: Pure and Applied Chemistry
Host Supervisor: Dr Aruna Ivaturi
Host Co-Supervisor: Dr Leonard Berlouis

Smruti Ranjan Dash

Received Best Poster Award in the paper entitled    “Eco-toxicity analysis of biologically treated refinery wastewater following cell recycle with tubular membraneat  Nutraceuticals and Chronic Diseases (INCD-
2019) held on September 23-25, 2019, organized by Biosciences and Bio- engineering Department Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, India

Tanushree Paul

Name of Award:
2nd position (Rs.75,000/- as Ignition grant for startup) North East Hackathon-2019, 5th September 2019.
Organized by: Assam Science & Technology University (ASTU), Guwahati, Assam.
Proposal Name:
3D-Printing & Artificial Neural Networks Based Platforms for Customized Nutrition &
Charcoal Products from Green Tea
(Jointly submitted with Dr. Suramita Chanda from SMCH, Assam)

Somnath Chanda


Received Second prize in poster presentation entitled “Refinery wastewater treatment using the oleaginous Rhodococcus opacus and bio- oil production from the lipid rich bacterial biomass by hydrothermal liquefaction" at Research Conclave 2019, held on 14-17 March 2019, organized by Student Academic Board, Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, India.

Tanushree Paul

Received best Oral presentation award in Research Conclave 2019, held at IIT Guwahati. The title of the presentation was: ‘Garlic-derived Organosulfur Compounds and Analogues: An Efficient Synthetic Methodology and Anti-proliferative Activities’.

Debojit  Bhattacharjee

Best Paper in the Oral Presentation held in 2nd International Conference on New Frontiers in Chemical, Energy and Environmental Engineering (INCEEE-2019) at NIT WARANGAL during 15-16 Feb, 2019

Paper title: “ Green synthesis of tin metal organic framework using waste Pet bottles as source of organic linker for efficient removal of fluoride”

Arnab Ghosh


Name of Award: Indo-US Science & Technology Forum (IUSSTF) Bioenergy award for cutting edge research (B-ACER) internship for a period of 6 months to undertake research at the University of Utah, USA on “Designing a consortium using anaerobic bacteria for efficient hydrolysis to enhance biogas production” to be hosted by Dr. Ramesh Goel, Professor and Graduate Director Civil & Environmental Engineering University of Utah, USA
Duration: August 2018- January 2019

Jyoti Kainthola

Received Best Poster Award in the paper entitled "Bioreactor strategies for refinery wastewater treatment using Rhodococcus opacus and bio-oil production by hydrothermal liquefaction" at the 'International Conference on Bioprocess for Sustainable Environment and Energy (ICBSEE-2018)' held on 6-7 December 2018 at National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, India

Tanushree Paul

First prize in “North East Biostart” Innovation and Talent Search Contest.
Name of the Organization: Guwahati Biotech Park
Paper title: Utilization of Waste Motor Oil and Oily Wastewater: Degradation with Product Formulation.
Form of award: Memento, Certificate  and Rs. 30,000/- Cash Prize
Date of Award:5th April, 2018




Ms. Sayanti Ghosh



Ms. Poulami Datta