Awards & Honours

  • 1987-1988, July-Dec 1992, May & June 1997: Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Bonn, Germany
  • 1994: JSPS Invitation Fellowship, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, Kojimachi, Chiyoda-ku 102, Japan
  • 1998-Date: Nominated as a Member of the Scientific Council of the International Center for Heat and Mass Transfer [ ]
  • 2001: Member of the Editorial Board of the International Journal: Progress in Computational Fluid Dynamics published by Inderscience, Switzerland
  • Guest Professor at the LSTM, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany (December 2001 to October, 2002)
  • 2002: Keynote speaker at the Twelfth International Heat Transfer Conference at Grenoble, France (August 18-23, 2002)
  • Fellow of the World Innovation Foundation
  • 2004: Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering
  • 2004: Indian Representative at the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics [ ]
  • 2006: Appointed Associate Editor to the Journal of Heat Transfer (Transactions of the ASME)
  • 2006: Invited Speaker at the Eleventh Asian Congress of Fluid Mechanics (11ACFM), Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (22-25 May, 2006)
  • 2006: Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • 2007: Dr. Gurmukh D and Veena M Mehta Endowed Chair Professor of IIT Kanpur
  • 2007: Re-elected Indian Representative at the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics [ ]
  • 2007: Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI)
  • 2008: President of the Indian Society for Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ISTAM), India
  • 2008: Member of the Editorial Board of Computational Thermal Sciences (Begell House)
  • 2009: Director, CSIR-Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute (CMERI), Durgapur and Ludhiana, India
  • 2010: Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences (Bangalore)
  • 2010: Delivered Prestigious CNR Rao Lecture at IIT Kanpur
  • 2010: Member of the Editorial Board of Indian Journal of Engineering and Materials Sciences (IJEMS)
  • 2010: Delivered Bhatnagar Memorial Lecture at the 55th ISTAM Congress
  • 2010: Acting Director, Academy of Scientific & Innovative Research (AcSIR), New Delhi
  • 2011: Awarded J.C. Bose National Fellowship by Department of Science and Technology
  • 2011: Member of the Working Group on S & T Human Resource Development of the Planning Commission, Govt of India
  • 2011: Delivered Keynote Lecture at the Second International Conference on Computational Methods for Thermal Problems, Dalian, China
  • 2011: Delivered Prof. B.R. Seth Memorial Institute Lecture at IIT Kharagpur
  • 2012: Member of Editorial Board of Heat Transfer – Asian Research.
  • 2012: Delivered ISRO-IISC Space Technology Cell Research Seminar.
  • 2012: Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA).
  • 2013: Invited Lecture at the 100th Indian Science Congress, Kolkata.
  • 2013: Distinguished Alumnus Award, Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur.
  • 2013: Key Note Lecture at the 15th AeSICFD Symposium, IISc Bangalore.
  • 2013: Director, Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati
  • 2014: President, Indian Society for Heat and Mass Transfer (ISHMT)
  • 2014: Foundation Day Oration: Tezpur University, Assam, India
  • 2014: First Prof. A.S. Gupta Memorial Lecture, 59th Congress of ISTAM, Bangalore
  • 2015: Associate Editor, Computers & Fluids
  • 2015: Plenary Lecture at the Indian National Conference on Applied Mechanics (INCAM), IIT Delhi
  • 2015: Honorary Fellow of the Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers, India
  • 2015: Invited Lecture at the Institute of Physics of Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • 2016: Distinguished Alumnus Award from Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
  • 2017: Honorary Doctorate (Honoris Causa) conferred by National Institute of Technology, Agartala
  • Reviewer for the following journals:
    1. Physics of Fluids,
    2. Journal of Computational Physics,
    3. Journal of Fluid Mechanics,
    4. International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer,
    5. Numerical Heat Transfer Part-A,
    6. Journal of Heat Transfer (ASME),
    7. Computer Methods in Applied Mechanics and Engineering,
    8. International Journal of Thermal Sciences.