Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati

Academic Calendar for the Winter Semester and Summer Term of AY 2019-2020

(January - May 2020 and May - July 2020)

BTech/BDes/ MA/MSc students registration for supplementary examinations

26 December 2019, Thursday to 02 January 2020, Thursday

Last date for submission of appeal to HoD/HAC by students(UG/PG) liable to be terminated for poor academic performance [for July-November 2019 semester]

27 December 2019, Friday

Registration of  New PhD students

01 January 2020, Wednesday

Registration of all continuing students

02 January 2020, Thursday

Orientation for new PhD students

02 January 2020, Thursday (Tentatively)

Last date for submission of recommendations  by DUPC/DPPC/CPPC on appeals of MTech/MDes/MSR and PhD students liable to be terminated for poor academic performance

03 January 2020,  Friday

First Day of Instruction of January - April 2020 Semester

03 January 2020,  Friday

IUPC and IPPC meeting to discuss appeals of students liable to be terminated due to Low CPI [for July-November 2019 semester]

06 January 2020, Monday

Last date for Late Registration with fine

10 January 2020, Friday

Last date for conducting Supplementary Examinations

(Grades to be submitted within 7 days from the date of examination)

10 January 2020, Friday

Spardha (Inter Hostel Sports Competition)

17 January 2020, Friday to 16 February 2020, Sunday

(Outside class hours and on Holidays)

Udgam (Entrepreneurship Summit)

17 January 2020, Friday to 19 January 2020, Sunday

(Outside class hours and on Holidays)

Last Date for receiving Grades of Supplementary Examinations

17 January 2020, Friday

Last date for reporting any revision on awarded grades for July-November 2019  semester by the Faculty Members to the Academic Section

20 January 2020, Monday

Classes with Wednesday Timetable

20 January 2020, Monday

Last Date of Course Adjustment & Last Date for Registering SA Courses

21 January 2020 Tuesday

Last date for student(s)/department(s) to report discrepancy(ies) in course registration

27 January 2020, Monday

Senate Meeting

Last Week of January  (Tentatively)

Alcheringa (Students Annual Cultural Festival of IITG)

Evening of  30 January 2020, Thursday  to 02 February 2020, Sunday [No classes on 31 January 2020, Friday]

Last date for submitting necessary documents by provisionally admitted PhD students  to academic section

31 January 2020, Friday

Silver Jubilee celebration of IIT Guwahati

14 February, Friday to 16 February, Sunday

[No class on 14 February]

IUPC/IPPC Meeting [To recommend New Courses Proposal]

18 February 2020, Tuesday

Classes with Friday Time Table

25 February 2020 Tuesday

Mid Semester Examinations

27 February 2020, Thursday to 4 March 2020, Wednesday

Senate Meeting

First Week of March (Tentatively)

Classes with Tuesday Time Table

12 March 2020, Thursday

Last date for returning evaluated answer scripts of mid-semester exams to the students

16 March 2020, Monday

Last Date for Dropping Courses

19  March 2020, Thursday

Research Conclave

Evening of 19 March 2020 Thursday to 22 March 2020, Sunday; No classes on 20 March 2020, Friday

Last Date for submission of lists of all courses (by departments/centres) to be offered in July-November 2020 semester

23 March 2020, Monday

Last date for submission of the list of Summer Courses to be offered by the Departments/Centres to Academic Section

01 April 2020, Wednesday for Monsoon semester courses and

12 May 2020, Tuesday for Winter semester courses

Time-Table Committee meeting for July-November 2020 Semester

07 April 2020,  Tuesday

Last date for finalizing and notifying Summer-term courses by Academic Section

01 April 2020, Wednesday for Monsoon semester courses and

12 May 2020, Tuesday for Winter semester courses

Submission of applications by BTech students for Branch Change, and  Submission of applications by BTech students for Minor Discipline

08 April 2020, Wednesday  to 21 April 2020, Tuesday

Classes with Friday Time Table

09 April 2020, Thursday

Classes with Monday Time Table

15 April 2020, Wednesday

Last Date of submission of Project Work by students

17 April 2020, Friday

Online course feedback for continuing students

23 April 2020 Thursday to 30 April 2020 Thursday

Last Day of Instruction of January - May 2020 Semester

30 April 2020 Thursday

End Semester Examinations

02 May 2020, Saturday to 09 May 2020,Saturday

Online Course Registration for continuing students

09 May 2020,Saturday to 18 May 2020 Monday

Summer Vacation for continuing BTechBDes/ MSc/ MA students

10 May 2020, Sunday to 21 July 2020, Tuesday

IUPC/IPPC MEETING

11 May 2020, Monday

Last date for showing evaluated end-semester answer scripts to 2nd Semester BTech students only  

13 May 2020, Wednesday

Summer Term 2020 Course Registration by Students

13 May 2020, Wednesday

Last date of Evaluation/Oral Examination of Project Work for BTechBDes/ MSc/ MA students

14 May 2020,  Thursday

Last date for seeking clarification by 2nd semester BTech students in evaluated answer scripts of end semester examination

15 May 2020,  Friday

First Day of Instruction of Summer Term 2020

18 May 2020, Monday

Last date of submission of grades to the Academic Section

19 May 2020, Tuesday

Last date for completion of PG and PhD for award of Degree in the Convocation 2020

21 May 2020, Thursday

First Date of application for nominations for "Best Thesis Award"

21 May 2020, Thursday

Last date of Course Adjustment for Summer courses

22 May 2020, Friday

Last date for submitting formal appeal to the course instructor(s) by 2nd semester BTech/BDes students only against any discrepancies detected in grading

22 May 2020, Friday

On-line availability of provisional grade report for Jan.-May 2020 semester

28 May 2020, Thursday

Last Date of application for nominations for "Best Thesis Award"

28 May 2020, Thursday

Last date for reporting change in grade(s), if any, to the Academic Section for the appeals made by 2nd semester BTech students

29 May 2020, Friday

Last Date of evaluation of application for nominations for "Best Thesis Award"

03 June 2020, Wednesday

Senate Meeting (Special meeting to recommend award of degrees)

05 June 2020, Friday (Tentatively)

Mid-term Examinations of Summer Term Courses

11 June 2020, Thursday to 13 June 2020, Saturday

Last date for Finalization of Branch Change

15 June 2020, Monday

22nd  Convocation of the Institute

19 June 2020, Friday(Tentatively)

Last date for returning evaluated answer scripts of mid-term exams of summer courses to the students

20 June 2020, Saturday

Last date for Finalization of Minor Discipline

22 June 2020, Monday

Notification of Allotments of Branch Change and Minor Disciplines

29 June 2020, Monday

Last date for completing Pending Requirements such as Comprehensive Exam./SOAS/ APR/Synopsis seminar by PhD students to become eligible for registering for July Nov 2020 semester

30 June 2020, Tuesday

Last date of instruction of Summer Term 2020

07 July 2020, Tuesday

End-term Examinations of Summer Term Courses

08 July 2020, Wednesday  to 10 July 2020, Friday

Last date of final MTech/MDes/MS(R) Project presentation without having to do further registration

10 July 2020, Friday

Last Date for conducting Re-examination for I and X grade cases of Winter Semester Courses

10 July 2020, Friday

Last Date for submission of letter grades of Re-examination conduced for I and X grade cases

13 July 2020, Monday

Last date of submission of grades for summer courses to Academic Section

17 July 2020, Friday

Issuing notices to students terminated from the academic programme due to Low CPI after Summer Term 2020

20 July 2020, Monday

Students registration for supplementary examinations

21 July 2020, Tuesday to 31 July 2020, Friday

 

 

 

 Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati

Academic Calendar for the Monsoon Semester of AY 2020-2021

(July - November 2020)

Registration for supplementary examinations

21 July 2020, Tuesday to 31 July 2020, Friday

Last date for submission of appeal to HoD/HAC by students liable to be terminated for poor academic performance

23 July 2020,Thursday

Reporting and Fee Deposit of New UG Students

27 July 2020, Monday

Document verification and Registration of New UG Students

28 July 2020, Tuesday

Last date for submission of recommendation by DUPC and DPPC on appeals of students liable to be terminated for poor academic performance

28 July 2020, Tuesday

Registration of New PhD Students/Dual Degree

29 July 2020, Wednesday

UG Induction Programme by Students Affairs section

28 July 2020,Tuesday to 31 July 2020, Friday

Registration of New PG(MA,MSc,MTech,MDes,MSR,) students

30 July 2020, Thursday

Registration of all continuing students

31 July 2020, Friday

First Day of Instruction

03 Aug 2020, Monday

Last date for Late Registration with fine

07 August 2020,Friday

Last date for conducting Supplementary Examination

(Grades to be submitted within 7 days from the date of examination)

07 August 2020, Friday

IUPC & IPPC meeting to discuss appeals of students liable to be terminated due to Low CPI [for Jan-May 2020 semester]

04 August 2020, Tuesday

Last Date for submitting Grades of Supplementary Examination

14 August 2020, Friday

Last date for reporting any revision on awarded grades for January-May 2020 semester courses by the Faculty Members to the Academic Section

14 August 2020, Friday

Last Date of Course Adjustment & Last Date for Registering SA Courses  

17 August 2020, Monday

Last date for student(s)/department(s) to report discrepancy(ies) in course registration

21 August 2020, Friday

Senate Meeting

Third Week of August (Tentatively)

Last date for submitting necessary documents by provisionally admitted M.A./MTech/MDes/MSc/PhD/ Dual(Masters+PhD)  students  to academic section

28 August 2020, Friday

Techniche (Students Annual Technical Festival of IITG)

Evening of 27 August 2020, Thursday  to 30 August 2020, Sunday [No classes on 28 August 2020, Friday]

Spirit Festival

10 September 2020, Thursday to 13 September 2020, Sunday[Outside Class Hours and on Holidays]

Mid Semester Examinations

21 September 2020, Monday  to 27 September 2020, Sunday

Classes with Friday Time Table

28 September 2020, Monday

IUPC/IPPC Meeting [To recommend New Courses Proposal]

05 October 2020, Monday (Tentatively)

Classes with Friday Time Table

06 October 2020, Tuesday

Last date for returning evaluated answer scripts of mid-semester exams to the students

12 October 2020, Monday

Last Date for submission of lists of all courses (to the Academic Section) to be offered by the departments in the next semester

13 October 2020, Tuesday

Last Date for Dropping Courses

15 October 2020, Thursday

Time Table Committee meeting for Jan-May 2021 classes

19 October 2020, Monday

Classes with Friday Time Table

21 October 2020, Wednesday

Classes with Friday Time Table

29 October 2020, Thursday

Senate Meeting

Second Week of October (Tentatively)

Last Date of submission of Project-I Reports by BTech/Bdes/MA/MSc/ MTech students

13 November 2020,Friday

Last date of Evaluation/Oral Examination of BTech/BDes/MA/MSc/M Tech Projects by the Departments

19 November 2020, Thursday

Online Course Feedback

13 November 2020, Friday to 19 November 2020,Thursday

Last day of Instruction

19 November 2020, Thursday

No Class

20 November 2020, Friday

End Semester Examinations

21 November 2020 (Saturday) to 27 November 2020 (Friday)

Online Course Registration by continuing students

21 November 2020, Saturday to 7 December 2020, Monday

Winter Vacation for BTechBDes/ MA/ MSc Students

28 November 2020(Saturday to 01 January 2021(Friday)

Last date of submission of grades to the Academic Section

04 December 2020, Friday

Last date for submission of completing Pending Requirements such as Comprehensive exam/SOAS/APR/Synopsis seminar by PhD students

07 December 2020, Monday

IUPC/IPPC meeting

08 December 2020, Tuesday (Tentatively)

Last Date for conducting Re-examination of  I and X grade cases of Monsoon Semester Courses

08 December 2020, Tuesday

On-line availability of provisional grade report for July-November 2020 semester to the student

10 December 2020, Thursday

Last Date of submission of letter grades of re-examination conducted for I and X grade cases

11 December 2020, Friday

Senate meeting

Fourth Week of December  (Tentatively)

Issuing notices to students terminated from the academic programmes due to Low CPI

14 December 2020, Monday

Students registration for supplementary examinations

21 December 2020, Monday to 31 December 2020, Thursday

 

Commencement Dates of Winter Semester of AY 2020 - 2021

(January - May 2021)

Registration of New PhD students for January-May 2021 Semester

31 December 2020, Thursday

Registration of all continuing students including backloggers

01 January 2021, Friday

Last date for submission of appeal to HoD/HAC by students liable to be terminated for poor academic performance

04 January 2021, Monday

First Day of Instruction of Jan-May 2021 Semester

05 January 2021,Tuesday

Last Date for Late Registration with Fine

11 January 2021, Monday

 

Winter Semester of AY 2019-2020

Month

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

Sunday

January 2020

 

 

1

2

3

4

5

 

New Stud

Regn

Cont Stud

Regn

Fri-1
First day of instruction

 

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

 

Mon-1

Tue-1

Wed-1

Thur-1

 

 

Fri-2

 

 

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

Mon-2

Tue-2

Holiday

Thur-2

Fri-3

 

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

Wed-2
Wednesday

Time table

Tue-3

Wed-3

Thur-3

Fri-4

Holiday

27

28

29

30

31

 

 

Mon-3

Tue-4

Wed-4

Thur-4

Alcheringa
No Class

 

February 2020

 

 

 

 

 

1

2

 

 

 

 

Alcheringa

Alcheringa

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

Mon-4

Tue-5

Wed-5

Thur-5

Fri-5

 

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

Mon-5

Tue-6

Wed-6

Thur-6

SJ Celebration
No Class

SJ Celebration

SJ Celebration

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

Mon-6

Tue-7

Wed-7

Thur-7

Fri-6

 

24

25

26

27

28

29

Mon-7

Fri-7

Friday Time table

No Class

Midsem-A-A1

Midsem-B-B1

Midsem-C-C1

March 2020

 

 

 

 

 

 

1

 

 

 

 

 

 

Midsem-D-D1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

Midsem-E-E1

Midsem-F-F1

Midsem-G-G1

Thur-8

Fri-8

 

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

Mon-8

Holiday

Wed-8

Tue-8

Tuesday

Time table

Fri-9

 

 

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

 

Mon-9

Tue-9

Wed-9

 

Thur-9

Research Conclave
No Class

Research Conclave

Research Conclave

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

Mon-10

Tue-10

Wed-10

Thur-10

Fri-10

 

30

31

 

 

 

 

 

Mon-11

Tue-11

 

 

 

 

April 2020

 

 

1

2

3

4

5

 

 

Wed-11

Thur-11

Fri-11

 

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

Holiday

Tue-12

Wed-12

Fri- 12

Friday

Time table

Holiday

 

 

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

Holiday

Holiday

Mon-12

Monday

Time table

Thur-12

Fri-13

 

 

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

Mon-13

Tue-13

Wed-13

Thur-13

Fri-14

 

27

28

29

30

 

 

 

Mon-14

Tue-14

Wed-14

Thur-14

 

May 2020

 

 

 

 

1

2

3

 

 

 

 

No Class

Endsem-A-A1

Endsem-B-B1

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

 

Endsem-C-C1

 

Endsem-D-D1

 

Endsem-E-E1

Holiday

 

Endsem-F-F1

 

Endsem-G-G1

 

 

Summer Term 2019-2020

Month

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

Sunday

May 2020

 

 

 

 

1

2

3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

 

 

 

Holiday

 

11

12

13

14

15

16

17



 

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

Day-1

Day-2

Day-3

Day-4

Day-5

Day-6

 

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

Holiday

Day-7

Day-8

Day-9

Day-10

Day-11

 

June 2020

1

 

3

4

5

6

7

Day-12

Day-13

Day-14

Day-15

Day-16

Day-17

 

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

Day-18

Day-19

Day-20

Mid-Term

 

 

Mid-Term


Mid-Term

 

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

Day-21

Day-22

Day-23

Day-24

Day-25

22nd Convocation (tentative)

Day-26

 

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

Day-27

Day-28

Day-29

Day-30

Day-31

Day-32

 

29

30

 

 

 

 

 

Day-33

Day-34

 

 

 

 

July 2020

 

 

1

2

3

4

5

 

Day-35

Day-36

Day-37

Day-38

 

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

Day-39

Day-40

End-Term

End-Term

End-Term

 

 

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

27

28

29

30

31

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Monsoon Semester 2020-2021

Month

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

Sunday

July 2020

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

 

 

 

 

 

 

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

 

 

27

28

29

30

31

 

 

New UG Fee

New UG Regn

New PhD Regn

New PG Regn

Cont PG and UG Regn

 

 

August 2020

 

 

 

 

 

1

2

 

 

 

 

Holiday

 

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

Mon-1
First day of Instruction

 

Tue-1

Wed-1

Thur-1

Fri-1

 

 

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

Mon-2

 

Tue-2

 

Wed-2

Thur-2

 

Fri-2

Holiday

 

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

Mon-3

Tue-3

Wed-3

Thur-3

Fri-3

 

 

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

Mon-4

Tue-4

Wed-4

Thur-4

Techniche
No Class

Techniche

Holiday

31

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mon-5

 

 

 

 

 

 

September 2020

 

1

2

3

4

5

6

 

Tue-5

Wed-5

Thur-5

Fri-4

 

 

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

Mon-6

Tue-6

Wed-6

Thur-6
Spirit

Fri-5
Spirit

Spirit

Spirit

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

Mon-7

Tue-7

Wed-7

Thur-7

Fri-6

 

 

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

Midsem-A-A1

Midsem-B-B1

Midsem-C-C1

Midsem-D-D1

Midsem-E-E1

 

 

Midsem-F-F1

 

 

Midsem-G-G1

28

29

30

 

 

 

 

Fri-7

Friday

Time table

Tue-8

Wed-8

 

 

 

 

October 2020

 

 

 

1

2

3

4

 

 

 

Thur-8

Holiday

 

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

Mon-8

Fri-8

Friday

Time table

Wed-9

Thur-9

Fri-9

 

 

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

Mon-9

Tue-9

Wed-10

Thur-10

Fri-10

 

 

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

Mon-10

Tue-10

Fri-11

Friday

Time table

Thur-11

Holiday

 

Holiday

26

27

28

29

30

31

 

Mon-11

Tue-11

Wed-11

Fri-12

Friday

Time table

Holiday

 

November 2020

 

 

 

 

 

 

1

 

 

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

Mon-12

Tue-12

Wed-12

Thur-12

Fri-13

 

 

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

Mon-13

Tue-13

Wed-13

Thur-13

Fri-14

Holiday

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

Mon-14

Tue-14

Wed-14

Thur-14

No Class

Endsem-A-A1

Endsem-B-B1

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

Endsem-C-C1

Endsem-D-D1

Endsem-E-E1

Endsem-F-F1

Endsem-G-G1

 

30

 

 

 

 

 

 

Holiday

 

 

 

 

 

December 2020

 

1

2

3

4

5

6

 

 

 

 

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

 

 

 

 

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

 

 

 

 

 

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

 

 

Holiday

 

 

28

29

30

31

 

 

 

 

 

Registration of New PhD

 

 

January 2021

 

 

 

 

1

2

3

 

 

 

Registration of continuing Stud.

 

 

4

5

6

7

8

9

10