XXI DAE-BRNS High Energy Physics Symposium 2014

8-12 December 2014, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati Register Now

About the award:

This award is instituted in memory of the late Prof. Rahul Basu, one of India’s leading High Energy physicists and a warm and enthusiastic member of the HEP community whose presence is greatly missed. The award, coordinated through the Indian Physics Association, will be given to the two most outstanding Ph.D. theses from India, across all areas of High Energy Physics (theoretical and experimental), during a 2‐year period starting from September 1 of each even year. To be eligible for the 2014 award, the thesis should have been accepted with a Provisional Degree Certificate from a recognized university, dated between September 1, 2012 and August 31, 2014. The winners, to be selected by an expert committee, will receive a cash prize (currently Rs 10,000) and a citation.

Award Winners and Ceremony:

It gives us great pleasure to announce the winners of the Rahul Basu Memorial Award (2014) for the best thesis in particle physics. The winners are:
1. Pratishruti Saha (Univ. of Delhi) for her thesis entitled "Addressing some issues beyond the standard model at Hadron Colliders".
2. Nikhil Karthick (TIFR Mumbai) for his thesis entitled "Studies on gauge link smearing and their applications to lattice QCD at finite temperature".
The following theses have received Honourable Mention
1. Ritu Aggarwal (Panjab University) for her thesis entitled "Measurement of High x neutral current ep cross sections and extraction of xF3 structure function using Zeus detector at Hera".
2. Amaresh Jaiswal (TIFR, Mumbai) for his thesis entitled "Formulation of relativistic dissipative fluid dynamics and its applications in heavy-ion collisions".
Congratulations to all winners. The awards will be presented at the XXI DAE-BNRS Symposium on High-Energy Physics, to be held in IIT Guwahati during December 8-12, 2014. The award ceremony has tentatively been scheduled on December 12 from 4-5:30 PM.
Dr. Saha and Dr. Karthick will present talks on their theses and receive a cash award, and Drs. Agarwal and Jaiswal will be presented with citations.

Nomination Procedure:

Nominations for this award are invited from faculty working in any aspect of High Energy Physics at a university or research institute. They should write to rahul.basu.award@gmail.com providing the name and email address of the nominee, and a brief (one paragraph) description of the nominee's work. The name of the nominee should also appear in the Subject line of this email. Thereafter the award committee will contact the nominee to submit his/her thesis, along with a detailed CV including list of publications and a copy of the Provisional Degree Certificate. The nominee will be asked to request two referees (one of whom can be the nominator) to write directly to the same email address in support of the nomination. In all communications, the nominee’s name should appear in the Subject line.


The last date to receive nominations is October 15, 2014 . Short-listed nominees may be contacted later on by the expert committee and asked to provide additional details as required.

Selection Committee Members:

Winners will be selected by an expert committee whose decision will be final. Current members of the committee:

Neelima Gupte, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai
Sunanda Banerjee, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata
Rohini Godbole, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
Sourendu Gupta, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai
Bedanga Mohanty, National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar
Sunil Mukhi, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune